Someone Knows

Once upon a time, I was chatting with a friend on facebook. She was relating to me some issues which she was passing through at that time, and as she was sharing them, I was responding the best way I knew how; we went back and forth and my responses seemed to be scratching where she was itching. Then she said to me, you seem to have all the answers. Seeing that such an assertion was too much for any human being to accept, I swiftly declined by saying “I don’t have all the answers, I just have all the trust in Him”.

Living in the 21st century, I sometimes have this feeling that I have access to all the information I need which sometimes are answers to my questions. I think to myself, if I don’t know, at least someone knows and Google can help me find that person. With millions of websites up there, my answer should be there somewhere. So think I. And what are the search engines for? But it doesn’t take long to find out that they don’t always come through. But the assurance is always there that someone knows.

I know many things but I don’t know all things. And I have this in common with every human being on earth. Sometimes I know the how but do not know why. Sometimes I know the why, but I don’t know why the why. Sometimes I know what but do not know when. But I keep searching for answers because I’m sure someone knows. I freely admit that I am limited in intellect and finite in knowledge, and so the fact that I don’t know something doesn’t mean that it is not known. For example, I know that copper conducts electricity and plastic does not. I don’t know why one does and the other doesn’t. I’m sure I don’t need to search too long before I find someone who can give me the answer to that. But, yet I have more questions which have answers. I don’t understand how I get to watch a football match playing on another continent, thousands of miles away, live on my TV through a digital satellite. I’m sure someone knows that and can do the explaining. I guess my thesis is simple. Whatever I don’t know, someone knows.

I guess that also means that I know at least one thing that someone else doesn’t know. I struggled to earn a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science, but I’m sure I know many things about computing as a science that a Doctor, of say Nutritional Biology, does not know. Which means that in all the God-given intelligences of the Albert Einsteins and Isaac Newtons and the likes of them, they don’t know it all. The universities will never run out of business because there’ll always be a research to carry out. Why? The problems of this world that beg for solutions and/or answers are too numerous. But one thing is sure, the professors don’t know it all. They may be experts in all the research methods that may be used to find answers, but they’ll never find all the answers. No matter how many high degrees you earn from whichever league of institutions, there’s always something that you don’t know which someone else knows, that’s why there’s such a thing called “team work”.

And maybe now you admit that even with all your degrees, you don’t know it all, then you turn to experts in other fields to find an answer, and to your astonishment, you realize that they don’t know. Never assume that there is no answer to that pressing question. This is why a wise man named Solomon said “And further, by these, my son, be admonished: of making many books there is no end; and much study is a weariness of the flesh. Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.” (Ecc. 12:12, 13).

One thing is sure. God knows it all. He is omniscient. He knows all things, He is perfect in knowledge.(see 1 John 3:20; Job 37:16). Omniscience is one of the attributes of God which He does not share with us—human beings. And that is too much for some human beings to accept. They feel they must know everything, but God says “The secret things belong unto the LORD our God: but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children for ever, that we may do all the words of this law.” (Deut. 29:29). God knows everything including knowing what I need to know. That which He does not reveal, He thinks I don’t need to know right now. I’m satisfied with that, not because that’s an easy route to take, but because that’s the only way to be happy. Should that stop my quest for knowledge? No. The angel told Daniel that in the time of the end—our time—knowledge shall be increased (Daniel 12:4). God expects that I seek for knowledge, while being constantly reminded of my limitedness and therefore know that I will not have all the answers, but I must trust Him who has all the answers.

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and understanding. (Prov. 1:7). Many embark on the fruitless journey of seeking knowledge without God. They make a god of themselves and set out to find the things which God has hidden. There is no miracle or mystery in their vocabulary, therefore, anything which they cannot explain is a myth or impossibility. The wise man’s point in the above text—Proverbs 1:7—is that, any quest for knowledge without God is foolhardy. It ends in misery. Such misery which makes scientists propound scientifically inconsistent theories like evolution or the big bang theory. They refuse to acknowledge the fact that even though in all their collective knowledge, there are things they don’t know which someone knows, and that Someone is God. Paul said to Timothy, avoid…oppositions of science, falsely so called: Which some professing have erred concerning the faith. (1 Tim. 6:20,21). He calls it false science because it’s deductions do not agree with God’s Word. History confirms that true science agrees with the God of the Bible, because it recognizes that God knows.

Someone knows it all and all He requires is that I trust Him. He says “Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding” (Prov. 3:5). God knows we lack the capacity to handle all the knowledge, He therefore withholds some which He calls secrets for our own good. This is not an endorsement of a lack of desire to know, it is rather a reinforcement of the fact that the things which are revealed belong to us while the secret things belong to God. God says “And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.” (Jer. 29:13). God, the source of knowledge, can be found if sought with all the heart. Where? In the Bible. The word of God contains the things which are revealed, they can be found with a little digging, by diligently studying the scriptures and they are to be accepted by faith because they are spiritually discerned. They may not make sense to the proud or unconverted heart, but they do make sense to the humble and contrite heart; because God dwells in two places: a high and holy place—heaven, but also with the contrite and humble spirit, to revive the spirit of the humble and to revive the heart of the contrite ones (see Isa 57:15). Hence, Paul challenged: “Where is the wise? where is the scribe? where is the disputer of this world? hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe. For the Jews require a sign, and the Greeks seek after wisdom: But we preach Christ crucified, unto the Jews a stumblingblock, and unto the Greeks foolishness; But unto them which are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God, and the wisdom of God. Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men; and the weakness of God is stronger than men.” (Rom. 1:20-25). The Apostle Paul here asks: where are those who claim to know and refuse to acknowledge that someone knows the reason behind that which they think is foolish? They want everything to be proved beyond reasonable doubt—wisdom—or beyond unreasonable doubt—signs and wonders. But God will note remove every possibility for doubt, neither does He desire to shroud that which is necessary for the salvation of mankind in mystery. But those that will understand it must humble themselves and learn from Him who knows.

The secret things belong unto the LORD our God: but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children for ever. This simple truth really does a lot to calm my nerves, being someone who has an inquisitive mind. It means God will not satisfy my curiosity, He wants me to trust Him all the way because He knows. Ellen White writes “God never asks us to believe, without giving sufficient evidence upon which to base our faith. His existence, His character, the truthfulness of His word, are all established by testimony that appeals to our reason; and this testimony is abundant. Yet God has never removed the possibility of doubt. Our faith must rest upon evidence, not demonstration. Those who wish to doubt will have opportunity; while those who really desire to know the truth will find plenty of evidence on which to rest their faith.”1 My point exactly. There’ll always be a possibility of doubt but there’s also sufficient evidence, therefore, as a child of God I rest in the fact that someone knows. Even though I have many things in God’s word which I don’t understand, they are not an excuse for losing faith in God. Mark Twain once said, “It is not the things in the Bible that I don’t understand that trouble me, but the things I do understand!” There is enough evidence to believe that God is an all knowing God in the Bible. How easy it is for men to neglect a myriad of evidences because of one unanswered question. For me, the answer to my incomprehensible questions is simple: Someone knows.

Even though I don’t understand how a virgin had a child, Someone knows. I don’t understand how a sea gave way to dryness for people to pass through, God knows how. And someone calls them wonderful works. I wonder if I’d worship Him if He does not show Himself to be wonderful and loving at the same time. He hath made his wonderful works to be remembered: the LORD is gracious and full of compassion. (Ps. 111:4). And I don’t understand why God loves mankind, yea, me, so much. He knows. And all that He requires of me is to rest in that love. He says “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matt. 11:28). Yes I don’t understand how such a mighty God became man, but He said He did, and that that’s the only way of escape I have from eternal death. He says “there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.” (Acts 4:12). Someone knows and I don’t. But all He requires of me are faith and Love. Not excuses and rationalization. Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil. (Prov. 3:7). It is the desire to cling unto evil that causes us to give excuse and rationalize—not fearing God—being wise in one’s own eyes. On the other end of this spectrum is faith and love—fearing God and despising evil—which makes one trust in the LORD with all his heart; leaning not on his own understanding. (see Prov. 3:5). I may not understand why sometimes bad things happen to good people and good things happen to bad people, Someone knows. And the Psalmist had the same trouble until he found that person who has all the answers. (see Ps. 73). If I can trust the detergent, which sometimes fail, to remove stains from my cloth even though I don’t understand how it does, how much more should I trust God, who has never failed, and believe everything he says by faith even though I don’t understand it all.

For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. (1 Cor. 13:12). Charles Tindley agrees with these inspired words of the Apostle Paul in saying “We will understand it better by and by” because we will see the One who knows and then we’ll ask Him. But for now, my whole duty is to seek the kingdom of God and its righteousness. I don’t need to have all the answers; I just need to have all the trust in Him.

________________________________________

  1. Ellen G. White, Steps to Christ, p. 105
2 thoughts on “Someone Knows

  1. so true, though I dont know the why of lots of things but as long as I know the one who knows the why I will be fine. Thanks for sharing this, I pray the anointing never run out or go dry

  2. Hakeem says:

    Inspired piece. Well knit. Instructive. Reasonable, too. To put one’s hands in God’s is wisdom. But this wisdom is given only to those who trust Him in everything and in every situation. He, who can solve every single problem in His own way and time: and that is the rub our challenge make us ask the wrong questions. But God is not fazzed. He still supplies the answers Let’s share this with as many post-moderns as possible.

Leave a Reply

